Main Content

St. Mary Parish Added to Louisiana Flooding Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
October 18, 2019
Release Number: 

BATON ROUGE, La. At the request of the state of Louisiana, St. Mary Parish has been added to the disaster declaration for flooding that occurred May 10 through July 24, 2019. FEMA’s Public Assistance funding will supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas affected by the flooding.


FEMA’s Public Assistance funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency and permanent work in Assumption, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Iberville, Ouachita, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. Martin, St. Mary, Terrebonne, and West Feliciana parishes.


Eligible work includes disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities, roads, bridges, government buildings, parks, and public utilities, including water treatment and electrical plants.


All areas in Louisiana are eligible for assistance under FEMA’s Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP).


The HMGP helps communities with hazard mitigation measures following a presidential major disaster declaration to reduce the risk of loss of lives and properties from future disasters.



FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during and after disasters.

Last Updated: 
October 18, 2019 - 10:00