Main Content

FEMA Issues Public Notice for 26 North Carolina Counties

Release date: 
October 18, 2019
Release Number: 

DATELINE – A public notice has been posted to the FEMA and North Carolina Department of Public Safety websites describing available FEMA assistance and proposed FEMA-funded actions, including activities that may affect historic properties, threatened and endangered species, critical habitat, or wetlands and floodplains in North Carolina.


FEMA is required by law to provide public notice of its intent to provide federal assistance and grant opportunities via the Public Assistance, Individual Assistance and Hazard Mitigation Grant programs.


The public notice addresses FEMA’s intention to reimburse eligible applicants for costs to repair or replace facilities damaged by Hurricane Dorian in the following North Carolina counties: Beaufort, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Craven, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Greene, Hoke, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington and Wayne.


The public notice is posted at and


This may be the only public notice given regarding these FEMA actions. Questions should be directed to or to FEMA, c/o Chelsea Klein, 3039 E. Cornwallis Road, Building 307, Durham, N.C. 27709 within 15 days of the date of this notice.


For more information on North Carolina’s recovery from Hurricane Dorian, visit Follow us on Twitter: @NCEmergency and @FEMARegion4.

Last Updated: 
October 18, 2019 - 18:15