Main Content

President Donald J. Trump Signs Emergency Declaration for the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Release date: 
October 7, 2019
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands to supplement Commonwealth and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions in the area affected by Typhoon Hagibis beginning on Oct. 7 and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Assistance for emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance under the Public Assistance program, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding for Rota, Saipan, Tinian and the Northern Islands municipalities.

Teresa Serata has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected area. Serata said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of damage assessments.


FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.
Follow FEMA online at,,,, and Also, follow Acting Administrator Pete Gaynor's activities @FEMA_Pete.
The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.


Last Updated: 
October 7, 2019 - 21:16