Main Content

FEMA Streamlines the Registration Process for Nebraskans

Release date: 
August 23, 2019
Release Number: 

On March 21, 2019, the president granted a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of Nebraska triggering the release of federal funds to help people and communities recover from a Severe Winter Storm, Straight-line Winds and Flooding.

To streamline the process for applicants who have uninsured damage from the March storms, FEMA has updated the process for survivors who need to register for disaster assistance.

Residents in Dawson County can now register with FEMA for uninsured damage sustained from the March 9 to July 14 storms and flooding.

If you live in one of the 28 initial counties and one Tribe designated for Individual assistance and DID NOT apply for assistance but sustained uninsured damage, you can apply for FEMA Assistance.

If you live in one of the 28 initial counties and one Tribe designated for Individual assistance and you have already registered with FEMA for disaster related damage that occurred between March 9, 2019, and April 1, 2019, AND your home received additional damage through July 14, 2019, you may be eligible for additional assistance. Contact the FEMA help line at 800-621-3362 and report the additional damage.

Dawson county joins the 28 counties and one Tribe; Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dodge, Douglas, Hall, Holt, Howard, Knox, Madison, Nance, Nemaha, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Stanton, Thurston and Washington and the Santee Sioux Nation, already designated to receive federal assistance to individuals.


FEMA disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include funding to help pay for temporary housing and minimal home repairs as well as other disaster-related unmet needs such as eligible medical and dental expenses and replacing essential personal property.

Registration is quick and easy. You can choose one of three ways to register for federal disaster assistance before the Sept. 13, 2019, deadline: 

  • Go online to ;
  • Call the FEMA help line at 800-621-3362.  Phone lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are on duty, OR
  • Use FEMA’s disaster app on your smartphone. If you haven’t downloaded the app yet, you can go to

Once you have registered with FEMA and reported damage to your primary residence, you may receive a call from an inspector to arrange for a visit.

Here is a step-by-step process to help you get started:

  • Document your damage – photos/video, list of damaged contents.
  • Contact your insurance agent to see if there is coverage under homeowners, renters and/or flood insurance policies. You will need to submit either insurance settlement information or a denial to FEMA as part of your registration so federal benefits can be correctly calculated. By law, FEMA cannot provide disaster assistance for the same damage already covered by other means such as insurance or aid from other agencies. 

After applying with FEMA, some survivors may be referred to the U.S. Small Business Administration. Low-interest disaster loans from SBA are available for eligible survivors. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, nonprofits, homeowners and renters, fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property.

With the addition of Dawson County and the extended incident period for storms and flooding up to July 14, with the exception of those who have not applied for a SBA loan, homeowners and renters, businesses and nonprofits can simply contact SBA and request a reconsideration of their previous loan application or reverification of additional damages they may have suffered during the later storms and flooding up to July 14.

Those that are requesting reconsideration of an application that SBA declined will need to provide a written request along with documentation that would overcome the initial reason for the decline. Any applicant that may have been declined for a loan was provided a written response outlining the reason for the decline as well as a defined period and instructions on how to request reconsideration.

Any residents, businesses and nonprofits in the 28 declared counties that did not previously apply to SBA, have until Sept. 13 to apply for losses during the March 9 – July 14 extended incident period.

Applicants may apply online, receive additional disaster assistance information and download applications at Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955 or email for more information on SBA disaster assistance. Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877-8339.

If referred to SBA, residents and business owners should apply immediately as part of the overall federal disaster recovery process.  Do not wait for insurance claims to be settled.  There is no cost to apply for an SBA low-interest disaster loan and no obligation to accept one, if approved.


Last Updated: 
August 23, 2019 - 13:22