Main Content

Additional Flood Assistance May Be Available for Nebraskans

Release date: 
August 15, 2019
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, NE - At the request of Gov. Pete Ricketts, the Federal Emergency Management Agency has extended the incident period in which disaster-caused damage may be covered. The presidential disaster declaration, issued March 21,2019, originally covered the period from March 9 to April 1. With the extension, additional uninsured damage sustained through July 14 may now be eligible for FEMA assistance and U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans.

If you have already registered with FEMA for disaster related damage that occurred between March 9, 2019, and April 1, 2019, AND your home received additional uninsured damage through July 14, 2019, you may be eligible for additional assistance. You do not need to reapply. Please submit an appeal letter to FEMA requesting reassessment.

Explain in writing the reason (s) for your appeal (i.e., you suffered additional, uninsured damage from April 1 to July 14).

An appeal must be filed in the form of a signed letter. You will need to include the following:

  • Applicant’s full name, date of birth and current address
  • Applicant’s signature and the date
  • Applicant’s registration number (on every page)
  • FEMA disaster declaration number – DR-4420 (on every page)
  • Include a list of damage unmet needs
  • Estimates from licensed contractors

You must include a copy of your state-issued ID, have the letter notarized or include the signed statement “I hereby declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.” If the person writing the appeal letter is not the applicant or a member of the applicant’s household a statement must be included granting the writer authorization to act on their behalf.


To find a sample appeal letter, please go to


Appeal letters and supporting documentation can be uploaded quickly to your account

on, faxed to 800-827-8112 with the cover sheet provided with your FEMA determination letter. Letters may also be sent by mail to:


National Processing Service Center

P.O. Box 10055

Hyattsville, MD 20782-8055


Homeowners, renters, businesses and private nonprofits that have sustained new or additional uninsured or under-insured damages through July 14, can contact and apply for an SBA loan:


  • Online using SBA's secure website at
  • By calling SBA's customer service center at 800-659-2955.

Email for more information on SBA’s disaster assistance.


The deadline to register is Sept. 13, 2019.

Homeowners, renters and businesses in Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dawson, Dodge, Douglas, Hall, Holt, Howard, Knox, Madison, Nance, Nemaha, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Stanton, Thurston and Washington counties and the Santee Sioux Nation may be eligible for assistance.


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during and after disasters.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has faced discrimination, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585 (TTY). Multilingual operators are available.


The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email or visit SBA at




Last Updated: 
August 15, 2019 - 13:30