Main Content

Announcement of Amended Public Notice

Release date: 
August 2, 2019
Release Number: 
R7-DR-4421 IA NR 063

DES MOINES, Iowa – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is required by law to provide public notice of its intent to provide federal assistance and grant opportunities via the Public Assistance (PA), Individual Assistance (IA), or Hazard Mitigation Grant (HMGP) programs.

The public notice is posted in English at:, and in Spanish at:

This initial public notice addresses the agency’s intention to reimburse eligible applicants for costs to repair or replace facilities damaged by severe storms and flooding March 12-June 15, 2019, in the state of Iowa. This public notice concerns activities that may affect historic properties, activities that are located in or may affect wetland areas or the 100-year floodplain, and critical actions within the 500-year floodplain. The notice describes the agency’s legal requirement to include the public in its evaluation of proposed activities to mitigate the impact to or by floodplains and wetlands and may affect historic resources.

This may be the only public notice provided regarding these FEMA actions. Information about assistance projects may be obtained by submitting a written request to the Regional Director, DHS-FEMA Region VII, 11224 Holmes Road, Kansas City, MO 64131. The information may also be obtained by calling 816-283-7060, between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Central Time, Monday through Friday. Comments should be sent in writing to the Regional Director, at the above address, within 15 days of the date of publication of this Notice.

The Iowa Department of Human Rights can provide information on resources for people with disabilities. Call 515-242-5655 or go online at               

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has faced discrimination or needs help with accessible communication, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362. Multilingual operators are available. 


FEMA's mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.

The following counties in the state of Iowa have been designated adversely affected by the disaster and are eligible for Public Assistance. Additional counties may be added in the future: Public Assistance (Categories A-G), including direct Federal assistance for Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lee, Louisa, Lucas, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, O’Brien, Osceola, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Tama, Union, Wapello, Wayne, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright; debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), for Calhoun County, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent federal funding.

The following counties in the state of Iowa have been designated adversely affected by the disaster and are eligible for Individual Assistance: Fremont, Harrison, Louisa, Mills, Monona, Muscatine, Pottawattamie, Scott, Shelby, and Woodbury Counties.

Last Updated: 
August 2, 2019 - 16:17