Main Content

Arkansas/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center to Open in Desha County

Release date: 
June 28, 2019
Release Number: 

Little Rock, Ark. – A Disaster Recovery Center will open Sunday, June 30 in Dumas (Desha County) to offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in counties included in the federal disaster declaration for flooding in Arkansas between May 21 and June 14.

Representatives from the State of Arkansas, FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations are at the centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.

The Disaster Recovery Center will be located at:


First United Methodist Church
Fellowship Hall
230 Court Street
Dumas, AR 71639

Hours: Sunday 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Disaster survivors can visit any Disaster Recovery Center location for assistance. Use the FEMA mobile app or visit for center locations and times.

Homeowners, renters and businesses should register for disaster assistance before visiting a recovery center. There are several ways to register:

• Go online to or (for Spanish).

• Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.

• Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication. To schedule an American Sign Language interpreter, call or text 717- 395-1379.

The 12 Arkansas counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Arkansas, Conway, Crawford, Desha, Faulkner, Jefferson, Logan, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Sebastian and Yell.

Follow us on Twitter: @AR_Emergencies and @FEMARegion6.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2019 - 12:40