Main Content

Public Facilities Now Eligible for Repair and Rebuilding Assistance in Nicholas and Owens Counties

Release date: 
May 28, 2019
Release Number: 
RIV 2019 NR 011

ATLANTA –Nicholas and Owens counties in Kentucky are now eligible to receive federal funding to supplement commonwealth and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides and mudslides from Feb. 6 – March 10, 2019.

The Commonwealth and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in the following counties were previously designated as eligible for federal grants under FEMA’s Public Assistance program: Adair, Ballard, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Butler, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Clay, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Fulton, Grant, Greenup, Hancock, Harlan, Henderson, Henry, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Livingston, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Martin, McCracken, McCreary, Metcalfe, Morgan, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle, Russell, Trigg, Union, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, and Wolfe.

All designated counties could receive federal funding on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities. 

For additional information on the Public Assistance process, please visit or or


FEMA’s Mission: Helping people before, during, and after disasters

Last Updated: 
May 28, 2019 - 11:03