Main Content

FEMA Public Assistance Deadline Extended

Release date: 
May 16, 2019
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. –The deadline to file a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) has been extended until June 20, 2019.  


Under FEMA’s Public Assistance grant program, applicants may be eligible for reimbursement for debris removal and emergency protective measures as well as the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain private nonprofit organizations such as houses of worship at a federal cost share of 75 percent.


The program also offers more protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing 406 hazard-mitigation measures during the recovery process.

Government entities are encouraged to submit a request for public assistance to FEMA.  RPAs must be submitted in Grants Portal.  If you have not received an email for the Grants Portal please call (402) 429-3389.

There are several categories of work eligible for FEMA reimbursement:

  • (Categories A-B) the cost of emergency services and debris removal, and
  • (Categories C-G) for roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, parks and recreational areas.


There are 80 counties designated for some type of public assistance: Adams, Antelope, Banner, Blaine, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Brown, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Cedar, Cherry, Cheyenne, Clay, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dakota, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dixon, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gage, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Greeley, Hall, Harlan, Holt, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Kearney, Keya Paha, Kimball, Knox, Lancaster, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, Madison, Merrick, Morrill, Nance, Nemaha, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Richardson, Rock, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Scotts Bluff, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman,  Sioux, Stanton, Thayer, Thurston, Valley, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, and York.


Five Tribes have been designated for PA:

Ponca Tribe of Nebraska, Omaha Tribe of Nebraska, Sac and Fox, Santee Sioux Nation and the Winnebago Tribe. 





FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.


For disaster updates from the State of Nebraska, visit Nebraska’s website at You can also follow @NEMAtweets on Twitter, and on Facebook.


Follow FEMA online at


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has faced discrimination, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362, voice/VP/711. Multilingual operators are available. TTY users may call 800-462-7585.


The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email or visit SBA at


Last Updated: 
May 17, 2019 - 07:13