Main Content

Don’t Delay, Register Today; Deadline for Federal Disaster Assistance Extended

Release date: 
May 9, 2019
Release Number: 
R7-DR-4421 IA NR 020

DES MOINES, Iowa – Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds requested, and FEMA approved, extending the deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance in the eight counties affected by the severe storms and flooding beginning March 12. The new deadline is Monday, July 1, 2019.

Residents in the following counties: Fremont, Harrison, Louisa, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, Shelby and Woodbury may be eligible for assistance from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration.

There are four ways to register for disaster assistance prior to the extended deadline date:

  • Online at:
  • Visit a state/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center (DRC). Go online to to find the nearest location.
  • Call 800-621-3362, voice/VP/711. Multilingual operators are on duty. TTY 800-462-7585. Phone lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time.
  • Download the FEMA app on your smartphone at

DRCs are located in Fremont and Mills counties at: 2014 290th Ave., Sidney, IA, 51545 and 111 Lacey St., Glenwood, IA 51537. The Fremont center is open Thursday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; the Mills center is open Monday through Wednesday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

A Mobile DRC is located in Shelby County at 500 East St., Shelby, IA 51570, open 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. This facility closes permanently at noon Saturday, May 11.
After submitting an application for FEMA, some survivors may be referred to the SBA, whose deadline to apply for disaster recovery loan has been extended to July 1, as well

Low-interest disaster loans from the SBA are available for eligible survivors. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofits, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits from other agencies or organizations.

SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Centers are located in Harrison and Woodbury counties at: 800 W. Huron St. Missouri Valley, IA 51555 and The Security Institute Building of the Western Iowa Technical Community College, Suite T140, 4647 Stone Ave., Sioux City, IA 51106. Hours and days of operation are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday.

An SBA Business Recovery Center is located in Mills County at Glenwood Resource Center, 111 Lacey St., Meyer Complex, Second Floor, Room 208, Glenwood, IA 51534, open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Mondays through Saturdays.

Survivors also can go online to SBA’s secure site at; or by calling 800- 659-2955 or TTY 800-877-8339. For information on SBA disaster assistance, go to

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has faced discrimination, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362, voice/VP/711. Multilingual operators are available. TTY users may call 800-462-7585.


HSEMD Mission: To lead, coordinate and support homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.
FEMA's mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.

The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email or visit SBA at .

Last Updated: 
May 9, 2019 - 16:20