Main Content

FEMA Announced Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Post Fire Funds Available for Fire Management Assistance Grant Declarations

Release date: 
May 3, 2019
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – FEMA announced a new policy today to aid areas affected by wildfires.

Through the agency’s Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP), funds are now available to support wildfire recovery. Previously done as a pilot program, the new post fire grants will be a permanent program for all areas that received a Fire Management Assistance Grant (FMAG) declaration on or after Oct. 5, 2018.

This new post fire program is being done as part of the agency’s implementation of the Disaster Recovery Reform Act (DRRA) of 2018. Section 1204 of the DRRA allows FEMA to provide HMGP Post Fire assistance to any area that received a FMAG declaration.  In previous fiscal years, funds have been appropriated for this program.  Now it is a permanent program of the Stafford Act HMGP program.

“More stable mitigation funding is the key to help communities become more resilient,” said David Maurstad, FEMA Deputy Associate Administrator for Mitigation and Insurance. “Our goal as an agency and as emergency managers is to help save lives and increase the number of properties protected against future fires.”

Eligible states, federally-recognized tribes, or territories will have up to six months after the end of the fiscal year to apply for funds. An eligible state, tribe, or territory applicant must have a FEMA-approved Hazard Mitigation Plan to receive HMGP Post Fire grants. To access a list of declarations, visit and select the declaration type, “Fire Management Assistance.”

FEMA encourages the mitigation of wildfire and related hazards, such as flood or erosion.  However, HMGP is available for the risk reduction of any hazard.  Funding will be prioritized by applicants based on the type and location of the projects.  Projects that benefit wildfire-impacted areas will be the highest priority. Funding assistance for an FMAG declaration is determined by the type of hazard mitigation plan approved for each state, territory, or tribe and the number of declarations that have occurred during a fiscal year (Oct 1-Sept 30).

Examples of wildfire mitigation project types are listed below and are detailed in the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Guidance Addendum. Please visit for more information.

  • Defensible space measures: The creation of perimeters around residential and non-residential buildings and structures through the removal or reduction of flammable vegetation.

  • Ignition-resistant construction: The application of non-combustible building envelop assemblies, the use of ignition-resistant materials, and the use of proper retrofit techniques in new and existing structures.

  • Hazardous fuels reduction: Vegetation management to reduce hazardous fuels, vegetation thinning, and the reduction of flammable materials to protect life and property beyond defensible space perimeters but proximate to at-risk structures.

For more information, visit at


FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.  Follow FEMA online at,,,, and Also, follow Acting Administrator Pete Gaynor's activities @FEMA_Pete.

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Last Updated: 
May 3, 2019 - 18:10