Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available to Nebraskans in 15 Counties and Santee Sioux Nation

Release date: 
April 9, 2019
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. – Employees or self-employed survivors in 15 counties and the Santee Sioux Nation who lost their jobs temporarily or permanently as a direct result of the flooding March 9 - April 1 may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).


Workers in Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington counties have until April 26 to apply.


Workers in Boone, Buffalo, Custer, Knox, Richardson and Thurston counties and the Santee Sioux Nation have until May 3 to apply.


Information about DUA can be found at


To apply for benefits:

  • File online at NEworks or call 402-458-2500 from Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Provide a Social Security Number. A representative will determine eligibility and assist in filing the DUA claim.
  • Provide proof of income. Proof of income from the most recent complete tax year must be provided within 21 days of filing the initial DUA claim.


Disaster Unemployment Assistance is funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency and administered by the State of Nebraska.




FEMA's mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has faced discrimination, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362, voice/VP/711. Multilingual operators are available. TTY users may call 800-462-7585.


The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email or visit SBA at .


Last Updated: 
April 9, 2019 - 11:34