Main Content

President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Texas

Release date: 
February 25, 2019
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Texas to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms and flooding on Sept. 10 to Nov. 2, 2018.


The President's action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms and flooding in Archer, Baylor, Brown, Burnet, Callahan, Comanche, Coryell, Dimmit, Edwards, Fannin, Franklin, Grimes, Haskell, Hill, Hopkins, Houston, Jones, Kimble, Kinney, Knox, Llano, Madison, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Nolan, Real, San Saba, Sutton, Throckmorton, Travis, Uvalde, and Val Verde counties.


Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.


Jerry S. Thomas has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Thomas said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.  

# # #

FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.


Follow FEMA online at,,,,  and Also, follow Administrator Brock Long’s activities at


The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Last Updated: 
February 25, 2019 - 18:08