Main Content

FEMA Administrator Appoints 10 Members to National Advisory Council and Solicits Applications for 2019

Release date: 
February 12, 2019
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON—FEMA announced today that Administrator Brock Long appointed 10 new members to serve three-year terms on FEMA’s National Advisory Council (NAC).

The NAC is a federal advisory committee of up to 35 members who advise the FEMA Administrator on all aspects of emergency management to ensure input from and coordination with state, local, tribal and territorial governments, and the private sector.

In addition to providing recommendations to the Administrator, the NAC gives FEMA access to expertise, information and advice on a broad range of issues.

The 10 new NAC members are:

  • “Rich” Baich, Executive VP, Chief Information Security Officer, Wells Fargo & Co. of Charlotte, N.C. as the cybersecurity expert.
  • Deanna Dahl-Grove, Pediatric Emergency Physician, University Hospital Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital from Cleveland, Ohio as the in-patient medical provider representative.
  • Bryan Desloge, Leon County Commissioner from Tallahassee, Fla. as the elected local official’s representative.
  • Dante Disparte, Chief Executive Officer, Risk Cooperative from Washington, D.C. as an Administrator’s selection.
  • Charley English, American Red Cross National Emergency Management Liaison from Fayetteville, Ga. as an Administrator’s selection.
  • Ramesh Kolluru, Vice President for Research, Innovation, and Economic Development from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette as an Administrator’s selection.
  • Juan Perez, Miami-Dade County Police Department Director from Doral, Fla. as the emergency response provider representative.
  • William “Brad” Richy, Idaho Office of Emergency Management Director from Boise, Idaho as the emergency management representative.
  • Grant Seiffert, Principal and CEO of G.S. Initiatives, LLC from Alexandria, Va. as the communications expert.
  • Kevin Staley, retired Mecklenburg EMS Agency Deputy Director from Charlotte, N.C. as the emergency response provider representative.

Administrator Long also announced that he selected Texas Division of Emergency Management Chief W. Nim Kidd to serve as the NAC Chairman, and Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Emergency Manager Jeff Hansen to serve as Vice Chairman.

Additionally, FEMA is now accepting applications for 12 open positions. All appointments are for a three-year term beginning in September 2019. Applications must be received on or before March 15. The open positions must represent the following professions:

  • Disabilities and access and functional needs (one appointment).
  • Elected state government Official (one appointment).
  • Emergency management (one appointment).
  • Emergency medical provider (one special-government employee).
  • Non-elected local government (one appointment).
  • Non-elected state government (one appointment).
  • Public health (one special-government employee).
  • Standards setting and accrediting (one regular-government employee).
  • Administrator’s selection (three special-government employees).
  • Ex Officio (one regular-government employee).

Detailed instructions on how to apply can be found at: and in the forthcoming Federal Register notice.


FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.

Follow FEMA online at,,,, and Also, follow Administrator Brock Long’s activities at

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Last Updated: 
February 12, 2019 - 17:03