Main Content

President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Virginia

Release date: 
December 18, 2018
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the Commonwealth of Virginia to supplement Commonwealth and eligible local recovery efforts in the areas affected by tropical storm Michael from October 9 to October 16, 2018.

Federal funding is available to Commonwealth, and eligible local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by tropical storm Michael in Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Campbell, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Halifax, King and Queen, Lunenburg, Montgomery, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Rappahannock, Richmond, Roanoke and the independent cities of Danville and Galax counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures within the Commonwealth.

Donald L. Keldsen has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Keldsen said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters. Follow FEMA online at,,,, and Also, follow Administrator Brock Long’s activities at

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Last Updated: 
December 18, 2018 - 16:44