Main Content

Wisconsin Residents have Two Weeks Left to Register for Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
December 3, 2018
Release Number: 
R5 DR-4402-WI NR-024


Madison, Wis. – Wisconsin residents affected by the late summer storms and flooding have two weeks left to register for federal disaster assistance. The deadline is Monday, December 17, 2018.
Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) remain open in Dane and Vernon counties from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. They are located at:

Dane County                                                             Vernon County
2413 Parmenter Street, Middleton, WI 53562        104 West State Street, Westby, WI 54667
Closes: Friday, December 14                                     Closes: Saturday, December 8

                                                                                    Westby United Methodist Church
                                                                                    202 East State Street, Westby, WI 54667
                                                                                    Open: Monday, Dec. 10 to Friday, Dec. 14

Residents in any of the nine designated counties of Crawford, Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Marquette, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon can visit one of the open DRCs for additional assistance. Representatives from FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, Wisconsin Emergency Management and other State of Wisconsin agencies are available to explain disaster assistance programs, answer questions about written correspondence and provide literature about repairs and rebuilding to make homes more flood resistant.

Before visiting a recovery center, survivors should register for federal assistance in one of the following ways:

• Online at;
• Use the FEMA App; or
• Call 800-621-3362 (including 711 or Video Relay). People who use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m., seven days a week.
Multilingual operators are available.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency, or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 (including 711 or Video Relay). If you are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585. All Disaster Recovery Centers are physically accessible and equipped to accommodate disaster survivors who need communication access. If you require an accommodation (ASL interpreter, braille, large print, etc.) while visiting a Disaster Recovery Center, just ask a FEMA representative.

FEMA’s mission is helping people, before, during and after a disaster.

Last Updated: 
December 3, 2018 - 10:24