Main Content

President Donald J. Trump Signs Emergency Declaration for Alaska

Release date: 
November 30, 2018
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of Alaska to supplement state, tribal and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions in the area affected by an earthquake on November 30, 2018.


The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in Anchorage Municipality, Kenai Peninsula Borough, and Matanuska-Susitna Borough counties.


Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency.  Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance under Public Assistance program, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding. 


Willie G. Nunn has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected area.  


# # #

FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.

Follow FEMA online at,,,, and Also, follow Administrator Brock Long’s activities at

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.


Last Updated: 
December 1, 2018 - 14:26