Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Monroe County for Three Days

Release date: 
November 5, 2018
Release Number: 
R5 DR-4402-WI NR-012

Madison, Wis. – A Disaster Recovery Center will open on Wednesday, November 7 until Friday, November 9 in Monroe County to help renters, homeowners and businesses in Wisconsin affected by the severe storms and flooding of August 17 through September 14, 2018.

Location:      Cashton Fire & Rescue
                       545 Front Street
                       Cashton, WI 54619
Hours:           Wednesday, November 7: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
                       Thursday, November 8: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
                       Friday, November 9: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

At the Disaster Recovery Center, representatives from FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, Wisconsin Emergency Management and other State of Wisconsin agencies are available to explain disaster assistance programs, answer questions about written correspondence and provide literature about repairs and rebuilding to make homes more flood resistant.

Before visiting a recovery center, survivors should register for federal assistance in one of the following ways:
• Online at;
• Use the FEMA App  or;
• Call 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. People who use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m., seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

If you need an accommodation when you visit a DRC, such as an American Sign Language (ASL) interpreter, let FEMA staff know.

Nine Wisconsin counties have been approved for individual assistance including Crawford, Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Marquette, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties. Additional recovery centers will be opening to support survivors in many of these counties.

The last day to register for FEMA assistance is December 17, 2018.



Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 (including 711 and Video Relay callers). If you are Deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585 to register. All disaster recovery centers are physically accessible and equipped to accommodate disaster survivors who need communication access. If you require a reasonable accommodations (ASL interpreting, Braille, Large print, etc.) while visiting a Disaster Recovery Center, just ask a FEMA representative.

FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during and after a disaster.

Last Updated: 
November 5, 2018 - 16:19