Main Content

Survivors in Seven Additional Georgia Counties May Apply for Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
October 25, 2018
Release Number: 
R4 DR-4400-GA NR 012

ATLANTA – Homeowners, renters and business owners in seven additional Georgia counties are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance due to losses from Hurricane Michael.

President Donald Trump amended a major disaster declaration on Oct. 25, for the State of Georgia to include Calhoun, Clay, Laurens, Randolph, Sumter, Tift and Turner counties.

Baker, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Mitchell, Terrell, Thomas and Worth counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance.

Calhoun, Laurens, Sumter and Turner counties were already designated for debris removal and emergency protective measures.

To be eligible for disaster aid, damages and losses must have occurred as a result of Hurricane Michael, beginning Oct. 9.

If you have a homeowner’s or flood insurance policy, file your insurance claim immediately before applying for disaster assistance. Get the process started quickly. The faster you file, the faster your recovery can begin.

If you cannot return to your home, or you are unable to live in your home, visit, or call 800-621-3362 (800-462-7585 TTY) to determine if state, voluntary or local organizations are in your community to address your immediate needs.

Although the federal government cannot make you whole, it may be able to help your recovery move forward by providing grants for basic repairs to make your home safe, accessible and secure. FEMA assistance also may provide temporary help with a place for you and your family to stay while you build your own recovery plan.

Long-term, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also may be available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via the SBA’s secure website at or by calling the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339) for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an e-mail to
The Federal Emergency Management Agency is unable to duplicate insurance payments. However, those without insurance or those who may be underinsured may still receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.


FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during, and after disasters.


Last Updated: 
October 26, 2018 - 07:25