Main Content

President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Kansas

Release date: 
October 19, 2018
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Kansas to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding from Sept. 1 to Sept. 8, 2018.

Federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding in Barber, Clay, Kingman, Kiowa, Marshall, Pratt, Rice, and Riley counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.
Paul Taylor has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Taylor said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments. 

# # #

FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.
Follow FEMA online at,,,, and Also, follow Administrator Brock Long’s activities at
The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Last Updated: 
October 19, 2018 - 15:05