Main Content

Petroleum County Added to Disaster Declaration: Federal Resources available for Public Infrastructure

Release date: 
September 21, 2018
Release Number: 


Helena, Mont. – Petroleum County was added Friday, September 21, 2018, to the federal disaster declaration issued by President Trump on August 30 in response to Montana flooding from April 12 to May 6, 2018.

As a result of the declaration, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

The following counties were included in the original disaster declaration: Blaine, Hill, Liberty, Pondera, Toole and Valley Counties.


Last Updated: 
September 21, 2018 - 18:21