Main Content

President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Carolina

Release date: 
September 17, 2018
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of South Carolina to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Hurricane Florence from September 8, 2018, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to the state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, in Berkeley, Charleston, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Orangeburg, and Williamsburg counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes statewide.

Elizabeth Turner has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Turner said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


FEMA's mission is to help people prepare before, during and after disasters.
Follow FEMA online at,,,, and Also, follow Administrator Brock Long’s activities at
The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.


Last Updated: 
September 17, 2018 - 11:10