Main Content

FEMA Announces about $210 Million Approved for Community Disaster Loans as 31 New Municipalities Receive Funds

Release date: 
July 24, 2018
Release Number: 

GUAYNABO, Puerto RicoNearly $210 million has now been approved in Community Disaster Loans for 51 Puerto Rico municipalities. The loans allow local communities to continue providing essential services as they recover from hurricanes Irma and Maria.


In June and July, 31 additional municipalities were approved for loans.


The municipalities approved for $5 million each are: Barceloneta, Cataño, Cayey, Cidra, Dorado, Fajardo, Guaynabo, Isabela, Juana Díaz, San Germán, San Juan and Toa Alta.


Municipalities approved for more than $4 million are: Coamo and Yauco.


The municipalities that were approved for various amounts more than $3 million are: Arroyo, Aguas Buenas, Comerío, Jayuya, Lajas, Lares, Moca, Morovis and Villalba.


Municipalities approved for less than $3 million each are: Adjuntas, Culebra, Guánica, Loíza, Maricao, Maunabo, Quebradillas and Rincón.


During the spring, FEMA announced 20 other municipalities that were approved for loans.


Loan applications are pending for additional municipalities to help with their essential functions.

For more information on Puerto Rico’s recovery visit



Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) 711/VRS - Video Relay Service). Multilingual operators are available. (Press 2 for Spanish). TTY call 800-462-7585.


Follow us at:

Last Updated: 
July 24, 2018 - 09:50