Main Content

FEMA Registration for Puerto Rico Disaster Survivors Ends June 18

Release date: 
June 14, 2018
Release Number: 

GUAYNABO, Puerto Rico – Survivors of Hurricane María are encouraged to register for FEMA disaster assistance before the June 18 deadline.

Federal assistance is available to survivors from the island’s 78 municipalities. Damage and losses from the storm must have occurred from Sept. 17 to Nov. 15.

Applying for FEMA disaster assistance is the first step to being considered for all FEMA programs. Survivors should also complete and return the low-interest disaster loan application from the U.S. Small Business Administration, if one is offered. By filing the application survivors may benefit from other FEMA grants.

There are several ways to register with FEMA:

  • Online at
  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 (press 2 for Spanish). Lines are open 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. daily. Multilingual operators are also available.
  • Visit a disaster recovery center. To find your closest center, visit

The types of disaster assistance available include:

  • Temporary rental assistance for homeowners or renters.
  • Financial assistance to repair damage to primary residence that is not covered by insurance.
  • Financial assistance to replace a home destroyed by disaster and not covered by insurance.
  • Temporary housing programs.
  • Medical, dental, transportation and personal property assistance.
  • Funeral assistance to individuals who incur expenses related to a death or disinterment directly caused by the disaster. This might include interment, disinterment, reinternment or funeral services.

Survivors are encouraged to apply for federal disaster assistance even if they have insurance and have applied for or received assistance under other federal disaster declarations.

FEMA grants do not have to be repaid. FEMA assistance is nontaxable and will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid or other federal benefits.

For more on Puerto Rico’s recovery, visit 


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) 711/VRS - Video Relay Service). Multilingual operators are available. (Press 2 for Spanish). TTY call 800-462-7585.


Follow us at:




Last Updated: 
June 14, 2018 - 13:00