Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Guilford, Rockingham Counties

Release date: 
May 16, 2018
Release Number: 
DR-4364-NC NR 003

RALEIGH, N.C. – Federal/state disaster recovery centers are open to help those whose homes or businesses were affected by the severe storms and tornado of April 15.

Representatives from North Carolina Emergency Management, FEMA, and the U.S. Small Business Administration are at the centers to explain disaster assistance programs and help survivors apply for aid.

The centers are located:

Guilford County

Guilford County Dept. of Public Health
1203 Maple Street
Greensboro, NC 27405


Rockingham County

1716 Freeway Drive (right off BUS 29)
Reidsville, NC 27320


Hours are Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. and closed Sunday until further notice.

Those seeking disaster assistance are encouraged to register with FEMA before going to a recovery center.

Applying for disaster assistance is essentially a two-step process, which ensures consideration for FEMA programs and SBA disaster loans. First, register with FEMA, then complete and return the no-obligation SBA loan application, if one is offered. There is no charge to apply for the loan and if approved, no obligation to accept it.

Disaster survivors may register for assistance the following ways:

  • online at
  • phone 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. Persons who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

FEMA grants do not have to be repaid. FEMA assistance is nontaxable and will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid or other federal benefits.

Survivors should register even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but underinsured applicants may receive help after their claims have been settled.



Last Updated: 
May 17, 2018 - 11:06