Main Content

North Carolina Tornado Survivors: Register for FEMA Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
May 9, 2018
Release Number: 
FEMA-4364-DR NR-001

ATLANTA – Survivors in Guilford and Rockingham counties with property damage or loss from the April 15 tornado and severe storms may now register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Individuals can register online at or through the FEMA App.

Applicants will need the following information to apply:

  • Social Security number;
  • Address and zip code of the damaged property;
  • Current mailing address;
  • Current daytime telephone number;
  • Private insurance information, if available.

By registering for federal assistance on you can:

  • Look up your address to find out if it is in a disaster area declared for Individual Assistance;
  • Check the status of your application and get updates by SMS or email;
  • Upload documents to support your application.

When an applicant registers, each receives a unique registration number. The number is important and should be written down and kept handy. Anyone who does not have a registration number is not yet registered.

Another option for individuals, including those who use 711 or VRS, is to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) while those who use TTY can call 1-800-462-7585. The toll free numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. EDT seven days a week until further notice.

Survivors should let FEMA know they have a need or a reasonable accommodation request. FEMA can provide sign-language interpreters and materials in alternate formats, such as Braille, large-print and electronic versions.

FEMA assistance does not interfere or restrict any other assistance applicants may be receiving, and FEMA disaster assistance also is not taxable.

Applicants with damaged homes may receive a call from a housing inspector to schedule an appointment for a home inspection. When the inspector arrives, he or she will have official FEMA photo identification. Ask to see it and inspect it carefully.

At the inspection, applicants must provide proof of ownership or occupancy. Homeowners may show a tax bill, mortgage payment receipt or insurance policy with the property’s address while renters may show a lease, rent receipt, utility bill or other document confirming the home was their primary residence at the time of the disaster.

Homeowners and renters also must present a valid driver’s license or other photo ID. The homeowner or a designated person aged 18 or older must be present for the inspection. If you need language translation support during your inspection, including sign language, you can request it.


North Carolina Emergency Management works to enhance the state’s resiliency by actively collaborating, communication and coordinating to prevent, mitigate, respond and recover from disasters.

FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

For more information on North Carolina’s disaster recovery, visit or

Follow us on Facebook at NCEmergencyManagement and Twitter @NCEmergency  or @femaregion4.

Last Updated: 
May 9, 2018 - 08:42