Main Content

Deadline for local governments, nonprofits to apply for FEMA/State Public Assistance grants is May 17

Release date: 
May 9, 2018
Release Number: 
DR-4359-WV NR 002

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — West Virginia communities, counties and certain nonprofit organizations affected by the February 2018 floods have little more than a week to file applications for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance program.

The West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (WVDHSEM) implements the program.

The deadline for filing requests for assistance is May 17.

Damage from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides must have taken place from Feb. 14 - 20. 

Counties included on the April 17 Presidential declaration are: Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Doddridge, Hancock, Harrison, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, Mason, Monongalia, Ohio, Pleasants, Preston, Ritchie, Taylor, Tyler, Wayne, Wetzel, Wirt and Wood counties.

“The first step is registering for an account by calling the WVDHSEM public assistance office at (304) 957-2573,” said Greg Myers, public assistance director. Once an applicant receives log-in credentials, reporting damage and completing application documents can begin.

“Emergency managers, community officials and nonprofit organization leaders can then begin the application process online at,” he said.

For more information about the portal and setting up an account, contact the WVDHSEM public assistance office at (304) 957-2573.

Who is eligible for Public Assistance?

Cities, towns and counties and some private nonprofit organizations can apply for FEMA public assistance grants. Nonprofit organizations that own or operate facilities that provide services the government would otherwise provide may qualify. Parochial schools, and schools of higher education, as well as some community senior centers would fall into the eligible private nonprofit category because each provides a service that the government does.

After a declared event, the PA program reimburses for eligible land and marine debris removal, for emergency protective measures, repair of eligible roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and equipment, utilities, parks and other recreational facilities.

FEMA approves grants and provides technical assistance to the state and applicants. WVDHSEM helps educate applicants about the program and the application process and distributes and monitors grant monies. Applicants are responsible for identifying storm damage, for providing documentation and managing the funded projects.

FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters. FEMA Region III’s jurisdiction includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. Learn more about FEMA Region III at Stay informed of FEMA’s activities online: videos and podcasts are available at and Follow us on Twitter at


Last Updated: 
May 10, 2018 - 12:25