Main Content

Additional Counties Eligible for Public Assistance Funding in Mississippi

Release date: 
January 3, 2018
Release Number: 
R4 DR-4350-MS NR 001

ATLANTA – Hancock County is now eligible to apply for funding under FEMA’s Public Assistance Program to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas that sustained damage from Hurricane Nate.

Assistance may cover eligible debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair or rebuilding of public facilities such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

The Jan. 2 amendment also makes Stone County eligible to apply for funding for emergency protective measures under the Public Assistance program.

The president’s Nov. 22 major disaster declaration for Mississippi was for damage caused by Hurricane Nate. Previously designated counties for the Public Assistance Program include George, Greene, Hancock, and Jackson counties.

Public Assistance funding for the state and designated counties may include payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs incurred due to the storm.

Application procedures for state and local governments will be explained at a series of state/federal applicant briefings to be announced in the affected areas. Approved projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 11:00