Main Content

A Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Victoria County

Release date: 
December 7, 2017
Release Number: 
NR 128

AUSTIN, Texas – The State of Texas/Federal Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Victoria County is relocating less than two miles away from its current location.

The center closes at the following site:

Pattie Dodson Public Health Center
2805 N. Navarro
Victoria TX 77901
Closes: Friday, Dec. 8 at 6 p.m.

A new DRC will open at 9 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 9, 2017, in the city of Victoria, at the following site:

Wells Fargo Building
1501 E. Mockingbird Ln., Suite 425
Victoria, TX 77904
Opens: Saturday, from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Regular Hours: Monday-Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Sundays from noon to 5 p.m.

Disaster recovery centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in counties included in the Texas federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey. Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the State and other agencies will be at the new DRC.

Disaster recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities, and are equipped with assistive technology equipment such as amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices and magnifiers. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.

American Sign Language interpreters are available to assist at a DRC. Requests can be made via text message at (470) 379-5943. Survivors will need to provide their name, the address of the DRC they will be visiting, the date and time of their visit and the type of sign language they are requesting. All requests for help should be made at least 24 hours in advance of a DRC visit to ensure assistance is available.

Homeowners, renters and businesses in Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller and Wharton counties may be eligible for help.

For more information on Hurricane Harvey and Texas recovery, visit the Hurricane Harvey disaster web page at, or Facebook at, the FEMA Region 6 Twitter account at, or the Texas Division of Emergency Management website at

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 11:58