Main Content

FEMA Administrator Names 13 National Advisory Council Members

Release date: 
August 29, 2017
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON—The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Administrator Brock Long has appointed 12 new members and reappointed one current member to serve three-year terms on FEMA’s National Advisory Council (NAC). Administrator Long also selected Mike Sprayberry, Director of the North Carolina Division of Emergency Management, to serve as the Vice Chair of the NAC, alongside NAC Chair Jim Featherstone.

“I look forward to working with the National Advisory Council, and am excited to appoint these individuals to the NAC,” said Administrator Brock Long. “Their experiences and expertise will add great value to the NAC.”

The NAC is an advisory committee established by federal law to ensure effective and ongoing coordination of federal emergency management activities. The NAC provides advice to the FEMA Administrator through recommendations on all aspects of emergency management. For example, the NAC recently made recommendations on building and enhancing technology-related capabilities and community preparedness with regard to nuclear power plant decommissioning.

The NAC consists of up to 35 members, including a diverse cross-section of officials, emergency managers, and emergency responders from state, local, and tribal governments, non-governmental organizations, and the private sector. In this year’s open application period, FEMA received more than 170 membership applications to fill the 13 open positions. The qualifications of each candidate were carefully considered during an intensive review process that included a recommendation panel of senior government officials

The 12 new NAC members:

Jeanne Abadie, Compliance Specialist, Advocacy Center (New Orleans, Louisiana)

Position: Representative of Individuals with Disabilities and other Access and Functional Needs

Sue Ann Bell, Clinical Associate Professor, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, Michigan)

Position: Health Scientist

Donald Bliss, Vice President, Field Operations, National Fire Protection Association (Quincy, Massachusetts)

Position: Representative of Standards Setting and Accrediting Organizations

Paul Downing, Indian Township Tribal Council Member; Emergency Manager, Passamaquoddy Tribe at Indian Township (Indian Township, Maine)

Position: Representative of Elected Tribal Government Officials

August Geisinger, Executive Director, Safeguard Iowa Partnership (Des Moines, Iowa)

Position: Infrastructure Protection Expert

Linda Long, Battalion Chief, Philadelphia Fire Department (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

Position: Representative of Emergency Response Providers

Tina Titze, Director, South Dakota Office of Emergency Management (Pierre, South Dakota)

Position: Representative of Emergency Management Field

Administrator’s Selections:

John Doak, Insurance Commissioner, Oklahoma Insurance Department (Tulsa, Oklahoma)

John Grathwol, Deputy Director, New York City Mayor’s Office of Management and Budget (New York, New York)

Lisa Jones, Director, City of Phoenix Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (Phoenix, Arizona)

Anna Lang, Research Analyst, Miyamoto International (San Diego, California)

James Waskom, Director, Louisiana Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness (Baton Rouge, Louisiana)

The reappointed member is:

Jeffrey Hansen, Emergency Manager, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma (Durant, Oklahoma)

Position: Non-Elected Tribal Government Officials


Follow FEMA online at,,,and  The social media links provided are for reference only.


FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.  FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:00