Main Content

Two West Virginia Counties Added to Federal Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
July 2, 2016
Release Number: 
DR-4273-WV NR-11

CHARLESTON, WV – At the request of the state of West Virginia, Jackson and Lincoln counties have now been added to the federal disaster declaration of June 25. They join the 10 counties already designated for both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance-Category B (emergency protective measures): Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Roane, Summers, and Webster.

West Virginians who suffered damage or losses as a result of the severe storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides beginning on June 22, 2016, are encouraged to apply for Individual Assistance. Disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs, as well as other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses.

Those who had flood or storm damage should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. Insurance payments cannot be duplicated, but under-insured applicants may be eligible for help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Survivors can apply online at or by phone at 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free numbers are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week, until further notice. Survivors can also download the FEMA App to their mobile devices to:

  • Apply for disaster assistance
  • Get directions to their nearest Disaster Recovery Center
  • Find shelter locations
  • Get weather alerts
  • Subscribe to disaster safety tips

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available for eligible survivors.

SBA helps businesses of all sizes (including landlords), private non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and can cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged real estate and personal property. Disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries.

For more information about disaster loans, survivors may call SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at  800-659-2955, email , or visit SBA’s website at TTY users may call 800-877-8339.

The 12 designated counties are also eligible for Public Assistance-Category B (emergency protective measures). The Public Assistance program reimburses state and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations at least 75 percent of disaster-related expenses to help West Virginia communities recover. Eligible costs for emergency protective measures, such as police overtime for extra work caused from responding to the disaster, may be eligible for reimbursement.                                                             

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:03