Main Content

Texans in 12 Counties Affected by May-June Flooding Can Register With FEMA for Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
June 14, 2016
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas – Texans who sustained damage or loss from the storms and flooding that began May 26 and continues can now register for disaster assistance with FEMA.

The presidential disaster declaration of June 11 makes federal assistance available to affected individuals and households in 12 Texas counties: Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Travis, Waller and Washington.

Residents are encouraged to apply for FEMA disaster assistance even if they applied for or received aid for other recent disasters.

“It may seem confusing, but residents who received disaster aid earlier this year need to apply again for assistance available through this new disaster declaration,” said Federal Coordinating Officer William J. Doran III, who is in charge of FEMA’s operations in Texas. “We want to make sure that all Texans who had damage in this latest disaster receive every bit of assistance they are eligible for.”

Texans can register the following ways:

  • online at

  • phone 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Persons who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. The toll-free numbers are open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

  • visit a disaster recovery center

To find the nearest disaster recovery center, go online to the Disaster Recovery Center Locator at

If you have a disability and need an accommodation to access Braille or large print, please let the FEMA representatives know. American Sign Language interpreters can be available, if requested, by calling Everett Sedgwick at 202-870-4129.

Disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs, as well as other serious disaster-related needs such as medical and dental expenses.

FEMA grants do not have to be repaid. FEMA assistance is nontaxable and will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid or other federal benefits.

Survivors should register even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but underinsured applicants may receive help after their claims have been settled.

For more information on the Texas recovery, visit the disaster webpage for the May-June storms at; or visit the Texas Division of Emergency Management website at Follow us on Twitter @femaregion6.

Download to locate open shelters and disaster recovery centers, receive severe weather alerts, safety tips and much more.

# # #

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Download to locate open shelters and disaster recovery centers, receive severe weather alerts, safety tips and much more.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:03