Main Content

Additional West Virginia County Approved For Disaster Aid

Release date: 
September 21, 2015
Release Number: 

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - Jackson County is now eligible to receive federal assistance for some of their costs incurred during the severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides, and mudslides occurring July 10-14, 2015.

On August 7, 2015, President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for the State of West Virginia triggering the release of Federal funds to help communities recover from the severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides, and mudslides. The disaster declaration for Braxton, Clay, Lincoln, Logan, Nicholas, Roane, Webster, and Wood counties made state, county, and local governments, as well as certain non-profit organizations, eligible to receive reimbursement for repairing infrastructure damage caused by the storms, as well as the cost of responding to them.

FEMA’s Public Assistance Programs provide state and local governments and eligible private non-profit organizations, in the nine designated counties, with federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings and utilities.

The State, which distributes the FEMA funds to local governments and qualified non-profits, must review Public Assistance projects, along with FEMA, to ensure compliance with regulations.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. FEMA Region III’s jurisdiction includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia.  Stay informed of FEMA’s activities online: videos and podcasts are available at and Follow us on Twitter at

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:05