Main Content


Release date: 
October 24, 2014
Release Number: 

Washington — Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson yesterday honored 312 Department of Homeland Security (DHS) employees from across the country for extraordinary service and outstanding contributions to the Department and the Nation. Secretary Johnson resumed these awards, which have not been issued since 2008, to appropriately recognize the extraordinary achievements and selfless service of DHS personnel who preserve our freedoms and protect America with integrity, vigilance, and respect.

“The Secretary’s Awards are a reflection of the character and commitment that I see in our employees throughout the ranks for DHS,” said Secretary Johnson. “Like so many others at this Department, the awardees today have performed well beyond what is expected, responding in extraordinary ways to obligations higher than themselves. They have set a sterling example for all 240,000 employees of DHS as we strive to keep our homeland safe, secure and resilient.”

During the ceremony, Secretary Johnson and Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas honored employees for their contributions supporting law enforcement activities around the world, promoting a safe and diverse work environment, improving disaster response and recovery efforts, and helping the Department eliminate waste and combat fraud.

DHS component leadership was in attendance to help honor the awardees. The event was highlighted with performances from the U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Band, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Pipe and Drums, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) Los Angeles International Airport Choir and the National Anthem sung by National Protection and Programs Directorate (NPPD) employee Lynda Yezzi.

For a list of all awardees, please click here.

The award categories included:

Exceptional Service Gold Medal: Secretary Johnson awarded one individual and two teams with the Exceptional Service Gold Medal, the highest award presented during the ceremony.

Meritorious Service Medal: Secretary Johnson awarded six individuals and five teams with the Meritorious Service Medal.

Award for Excellence: Secretary Johnson awarded five individuals and fourteen teams with the Secretary’s Award for Excellence.

Award for Valor: Secretary Johnson awarded two individuals with the Secretary’s Award for Valor.

Award for Exemplary Service: Secretary Johnson awarded fifteen individuals with the Secretary’s Award for Exemplary Service.

Award for Diversity Management: Secretary Johnson awarded two individuals and one team with the Secretary’s Award for Diversity Management.

Award for Volunteer Service: Secretary Johnson awarded two individuals and one team with the Secretary’s Award for Volunteer Service.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.  Follow us on Twitter at //




Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:06