Main Content


Release date: 
October 3, 2013
Release Number: 

DENVER – Local governments, certain private nonprofit organizations and state agencies in
10 Colorado counties are now eligible to apply for all categories of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance.

The counties are: Adams, Boulder, Clear Creek, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Logan, Morgan, Washington and Weld.

FEMA Public Assistance funding helps communities recover by providing a 75 percent federal reimbursement for eligible, disaster-related costs for debris removal, emergency measures, and permanent work to repair and replace disaster-damaged public facilities.

The remaining 25 percent non-federal share comes from state and local sources. The state manages the grants for all projects.

Morgan and Washington counties were added Oct. 1 by an amendment to the Colorado major disaster declaration. The President authorized federal assistance to help the State recover from severe storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides that occurred September 11-30.

Projects fall into the following categories:

  • Category A: Debris Removal
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures
  • Category C: Road Systems and Bridges
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities
  • Category E: Public Buildings and Contents
  • Category F: Public Utilities
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational and other

All counties within Colorado are also eligible to apply for assistance under FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Program.                                             

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:07