Spink County Now Eligible for Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
August 27, 2013
Release Number: 

Watertown, S.D. – Spink County is now eligible for federal assistance from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred during the period of June 19 to June 29, 2013.

Spink County joins the seven previously declared South Dakota counties eligible for FEMA Public Assistance, which may include assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

The counties now designated for FEMA Public Assistance include: Beadle, Codington, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Hughes, Kingsbury and Spink counties.        

FEMA’s Public Assistance is a reimbursement program that helps communities deal with the financial burdens imposed by a disaster. The federal share of assistance is 75 percent of the eligible cost for emergency measures and restoration of disaster damaged public facilities. The state of South Dakota will pay 10 percent of the total eligible cost share with the applicant responsible for supplying the remaining 15 percent

All counties in the State of South Dakota are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. Hazard Mitigation assistance may enable counties to implement measures to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property for natural hazards, before a disaster strikes.

Last Updated: 
August 28, 2013 - 11:29
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top