Main Content

President Declares Disaster for Wisconsin

Release date: 
August 8, 2013
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of Wisconsin to supplement state, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, flooding, and mudslides during the period of June 20-28, 2013.

The President's action makes federal funding available to state, tribal, and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, flooding, and mudslides in Ashland, Bayfield, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix, and Vernon counties and the Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa in Bayfield County.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Warren J. Riley has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.  Riley said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Follow FEMA online at,,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications. 

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:08