Main Content

Scotland County Added to Missouri Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
August 6, 2013
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Scotland County is now eligible for federal assistance from the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding that occurred during the period of May 29, 2013, to June 10, 2013.

Scotland County joins the 27 previously declared Missouri counties eligible for FEMA Public Assistance, which may include assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

The counties now designated for FEMA Public Assistance include: Barton, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Chariton, Clark, Howard, Iron, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Maries, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Osage, Perry, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Shelby, St. Charles, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Scotland, Stoddard, Sullivan, Texas, and Webster Counties.        

All counties in the State of Missouri are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. Hazard Mitigation assistance may enable counties to implement measures to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property for natural hazards, before a disaster strikes.

For more information on the Missouri disaster declaration visit:  

Follow FEMA online at,, and  Find regional updates from FEMA Region VII at Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at  The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
August 6, 2013 - 19:28
State/Tribal Government or Region: