Main Content

Brown County Approved for FEMA Public Assistance

Release date: 
June 21, 2013
Release Number: 
4116-IL NR-063

AURORA, Ill. –  FEMA announced Friday that it has approved Governor Pat Quinn’s request to make public assistance available in Brown County to help cover the costs that county and local governments and certain non-profits face because of response and damages incurred in the storms and flooding of April 16 to May 5.

Brown County already was one of 33 counties designated for individual assistance to its residents for their damages. It becomes the 40th Illinois county eligible for public assistance, which is a cost-sharing program with FEMA providing 75 percent of eligible costs. State and local governments are responsible for the remainder.

Categories of eligible work that may be funded by FEMA are debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair or replacement of roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, and parks and recreational facilities.

Counties now designated for public assistance are Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Clark, Crawford, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Will and Woodford.

Counties designated for individual assistance are Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Peoria, Pike, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford. Individuals in these counties can register online at or via web-enabled phone at Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. People who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS) can call 800-621-3362. For more information visit the Illinois Disaster website

Multilingual phone operators are available on the FEMA helpline. Choose Option 2 for Spanish and Option 3 for other languages.

The deadline to register for FEMA disaster assistance is Tuesday, July 9.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Follow FEMA online at,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Media Contact: 571-408-1835

Last Updated: 
June 24, 2013 - 09:01
State/Tribal Government or Region: