Main Content

President Expands Emergency Declaration for Texas to Include Assistance to Individuals

Release date: 
May 1, 2013
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that, in line with the request from the Governor of Texas, the emergency disaster declaration for the State of Texas, declared on April 19, 2013, has been expanded to allow individuals and households affected by the explosion in McLennan County, access to Individual Assistance grants. 

The President’s action makes housing and other assistance available to eligible individuals in McLennan County.  Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs; medical, dental, and funeral expenses; and personal property, transportation and other forms of assistance to help individuals recover from the effects of the disaster. 

Today’s announcement further supports the response efforts previously approved to assist with emergency work to protect lives and property, public health and safety. 

Individuals who sustained losses as a result of the explosion in McLennan County can begin applying for assistance by registering online at //, by web enabled mobile device at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).  Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362.

Follow FEMA online at,,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at  The social media links provided are for reference only. 

FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.  FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:09