Main Content

Nearly $1.5 Billion Provided by FEMA, SBA to New York Hurricane Sandy Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
January 18, 2013
Release Number: 

NEW YORK — Federal disaster assistance to New York survivors of Hurricane Sandy totals almost $1.5 billion.

FEMA continues to reach out to all 13 counties designated for Individual Assistance, focusing on the hardest-hit areas. Assistance to residents in affected counties includes:

  • Bronx                $2.3 million
  • Kings                $188 million
  • Nassau              $277 million
  • New York         $12.8 million
  • Queens              $218 million
  • Richmond         $87.9 million
  • Suffolk              $63.9 million

FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration have approved almost $1.5 billion for Hurricane Sandy survivors. FEMA has approved more than $855 million for individuals and households, including nearly $753 million for housing assistance and more than $102 million in assistance for other needs.

  • SBA has approved more than $590 million in disaster loans to homeowners and renters and nearly $40 million in disaster loans to businesses. The SBA has staff members at every FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Center and 17 Business Recovery Centers in the New York area to provide one-on-one help to business owners seeking disaster assistance.
  • More than 263,000 New Yorkers have contacted FEMA for information or registered for assistance, including nearly 143,000 who have applied through the online application site at or on their smartphone at
  • 20 Disaster Recovery Centers are open in the affected areas. These include mobile sites as well as fixed sites. To date, nearly 133,000 survivors have been assisted at Disaster Recovery Centers in New York.         
  • 59 inspectors are currently in the field. To date, 172,727 home inspections have been completed, making a 99.4 percent completion rate.
  • 13 New York counties are designated for both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance. These are Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester. Greene County has been designated for Public Assistance only.
  • More than $1.4 billion has been paid to National Flood Insurance Program policy holders in New York for losses resulting from Sandy. The National Flood Insurance Program, administered by FEMA, offers flood insurance to all homeowners, renters and business owners if their community participates in the NFIP.
  • Since Hurricane Sandy made landfall, FEMA has provided more than $413 million in Public Assistance grants in New York State. The FEMA PA program reimburses state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations 75 percent of costs for disaster-related expenses associated with emergency protective measures, debris removal, and the repair and restoration of damaged infrastructure. In order to qualify, damage must be a direct result of Hurricane Sandy.

Individuals can register with FEMA online at or via smartphone or tablet at  Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585.

Applicants who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS) can call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 1 a.m. EST, seven days a week.

For more information on New York’s disaster recovery, visit,, and

Last Updated: 
January 18, 2013 - 16:42
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: