Main Content

Disaster Assistance from FEMA Based on Individual Loss, Need

Release date: 
December 5, 2012
Release Number: 

WINDSOR, Conn. – Federal disaster assistance for Connecticut’s Hurricane Sandy survivors is based on the unique needs and losses of each individual applicant.

“FEMA’s goal is to help anyone who suffered damage to receive every bit of assistance we offer,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Albert Lewis of the Federal Emergency Management Agency. “One household may receive more or less than the one next door, but that’s driven by varying needs and damage.”

Fairfield, Middlesex, New Haven and New London counties, as well as the Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan Tribal Nations within New London County, are designated for assistance to individuals under the Major Disaster Declaration of Oct 30.

Applications are evaluated on a case-by-case basis to address the needs of each individual. FEMA specialists are trained to coordinate assistance from various sources, such as other federal and state agencies, and volunteer and faith-based organizations. Assistance may include direct grants, low-interest disaster loans or other support to help residents recover from a disaster.

No matter how large or small the loss, anyone who experienced damage from Sandy should register with FEMA. It does not matter whether the survivor has insurance or not, or is a homeowner or renter.

The deadline to register is Dec. 31. Survivors can register online anytime day or night at, or with a smartphone or other Web-enabled device at Survivors can also register by phone anytime by calling FEMA at 800-621-3362. The TTY number is 800-462-7585. Multilingual operators are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Wait for the English message to finish to reach the multilingual operators.

Registering for disaster assistance with other agencies or organizations does not register survivors for FEMA disaster assistance. Having FEMA flood insurance does not register policyholders for disaster assistance; flood insurance claims are handled separately.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362. For TTY, call 800-462-7585.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private, nonprofit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts, and covers the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:10