Main Content

Four Counties Added to New York Disaster for Individual Assistance

Release date: 
November 13, 2012
Release Number: 

NEW YORK – Today, FEMA announced an amendment to the major disaster declaration for the State of New York to include the Individual Assistance program for four additional counties.

Federal funding is available to affected individuals in Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, and uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and households recover from the effects of the disaster.

Individuals and households who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by registering online at, by smartphone at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.  The toll-free telephone numbers will operate 24 hours, seven days a week until further notice.

Last Updated: 
November 13, 2012 - 13:40
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: