Main Content

Register Online with FEMA for Assistance after Hurricane Sandy

Release date: 
November 6, 2012
Release Number: 

HARTFORD, Conn. – Residents living in Fairfield, Middlesex, New Haven and New London counties who suffered damage during Hurricane Sandy must register with FEMA in order to receive federal assistance. FEMA is urging storm survivors with computer access to register online.

Applicants can register online at or with any web-enabled mobile device, tablet or smartphone at Follow the link to “Apply Online for FEMA Assistance.”

Applicants can also register by phone by calling FEMA at 1-800-621-3362. If you use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585. If using 711 Relay or Video Relay Services, call 1-800-621-3362. Multilingual operators are available.

Individuals, families and business owners who suffered losses in the designated counties should register for disaster assistance such as grants for temporary housing or essential repairs to make their homes safe and secure. Low-interest disaster loans are also available through the U.S. Small Business Administration. For more information, visit

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and covers the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:34
State/Tribal Government or Region: