Main Content

Five Counties Added To Alabama Disaster For Public Assistance

Release date: 
October 4, 2012
Release Number: 

CLANTON, Ala.  – Governor Robert Bentley’s request for five counties to be added to the President’s major disaster declaration for damage caused by Hurricane Isaac was granted Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2012, by the Federal Emergency Management Agency. 

Local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in Covington, Dallas, Geneva, Monroe and Perry counties are now eligible to apply for assistance from FEMA’s Public Assistance Program.

The program provides grants, on a cost-sharing basis, to reimburse state agencies, local governments and eligible private nonprofits for emergency protective measures, debris removal, and permanent repairs to roads, bridges and public buildings and infrastructure damaged by the hurricane.

Baldwin, Mobile and Pickens counties were previously designated for assistance in the Sept. 21 disaster declaration.

FEMA Public Assistance grants cover 75 percent of the approved eligible costs with the remainder coming from state and local governments.

Alabama Emergency Management Agency officials will schedule Applicants’ Briefings in the added counties.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
May 15, 2013 - 17:11
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: