Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Benefits Available For Mississippi Workers Affected By Hurricane Isaac

Release date: 
October 4, 2012
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. – Mississippians in 18 counties who lost work due to Hurricane Isaac could be eligible for disaster unemployment benefits, but deadlines are approaching.

Those who work in Adams, Amite, Clarke, Forrest, George, Hinds, Lincoln, Marion, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Warren and Wilkinson counties have until Oct. 10 to apply for unemployment benefits.

Those who work in Copiah, Franklin, Jefferson, Jones and Lamar counties may also apply for disaster unemployment benefits. The deadline to apply in these counties is Nov. 2.

Those who may be eligible include:

  • Self-employed individuals who lived or worked in the affected areas during the storm and those who are unemployed as a result of the storm.
  • Workers who were unable to reach their jobs as a result of the storm.
  • Those who were to begin employment but were unable to travel to the location or the business was destroyed due to the disaster.
  • Individuals who became the primary or major wage earner due to the disaster-related death of the head of the household.
  • Those who cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the storm.
  • Individuals who can no longer work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business.

Apply online at available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call the toll-free number 888-844-3577 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Those requiring TTY assistance may call 800-582-2233.

The program is funded by FEMA and administered by the state of Mississippi.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:32
State/Tribal Government or Region: