Main Content

Five More Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
September 28, 2012
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. – Five additional Mississippi counties affected by Hurricane Isaac have been designated to receive Individual Assistance from FEMA.

Survivors who had losses in Copiah, Franklin, Jefferson, Jones and Lamar counties are now eligible to register for assistance. Adams, Amite, Clarke, Forrest, George, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Jackson, Lincoln, Marion, Pike, Pearl River, Stone, Walthall, Warren and Wilkinson counties were previously designated.

Applicants should register online at or by mobile device at If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free Helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Homeowners and renters can register for federal disaster assistance that may help pay for:

  • Temporary housing;
  • Home repairs;
  • Other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs; and
  • Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration that may cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

People in the newly designated counties who have already registered for federal disaster assistance do not need to do so again. If they have any questions about their applications for disaster assistance, they should call 800-621-3362.

FEMA inspectors are currently visiting the primary residences of disaster applicants in Mississippi to assess damages related to Hurricane Isaac. Inspectors are private contractors and always display identification badges. They will contact applicants to make appointments before visiting properties.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.




Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:32
State/Tribal Government or Region: