Main Content

More Mississippi Counties Eligible For Assistance

Release date: 
August 31, 2012
Release Number: 

ATLANTA – Fourteen additional Mississippi counties and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians have been designated for federal assistance to supplement state and local response efforts in the area affected by Hurricane Isaac.
The counties added to the declaration are: Adams, Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, Kemper, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Warren and Winston. This brings the total to
48 counties included in the Mississippi disaster declaration.

State, tribal and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations are eligible to be reimbursed on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program, at 75 percent federal funding.

FEMA Region IV continues to work with its state and federal partners to respond to and assess the impacts from Isaac.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
August 31, 2012 - 14:00
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: