Main Content

Seven Municipalities Added to Virginia Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
August 15, 2012
Release Number: 

RICHMOND, Va. -- Federal disaster assistance is being made available to seven additional Virginia municipalities that suffered damages during the derecho and severe storms of late June 2012.

Public Assistance – which is aid to state and local governments, schools, and certain private nonprofits -- is now available in Franklin, Montgomery, Smyth and Stafford counties and the cities of Buena Vista, Falls Church and Harrisonburg.

The municipalities were added to the disaster declaration following new damage assessments requested by the state, and conducted last week by local officials, representatives of the Virginia Department of Emergency Management, and FEMA.

The additions bring the total public assistance designations to 51 counties and 18 cities.

Public Assistance grants cover 75 percent of approved eligible costs. Grants will help pay for the emergency protective measures taken during the storm, debris removal from public roads, and permanent repairs to public infrastructure, highways, bridges, utilities, schools, museums, parks, and other taxpayer-funded facilities.  Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. 

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
September 27, 2012 - 09:59
State/Tribal Government or Region: