Main Content

Federal Storm Aid Tops $3.7m as Registration Deadline Approaches

Release date: 
May 4, 2012
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- As the May 8 deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance quickly approaches, aid continues for Indiana residents and communities affected by severe storms that occurred from Feb. 29 through March 3 in Clark, Jefferson, Ripley, Scott, Warrick and Washington counties. ?

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) reports that, as of May 3, $1,504,212 has been approved to fund expenses not covered by insurance or other programs. Such expenses include temporary rental assistance, repair and replacement of essential household items and disaster-related medical, dental or funeral costs. FEMA reports 1,447 registrations have been received. Homes are being inspected within 37 hours of registration, and 639 inspections have been completed.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) reports $2,227,700 have been approved for homeowners, renters, businesses and non-profits. Forty-five loans have been approved thus far, and more approvals are anticipated.

May 8 is the last day to register for FEMA Individual Assistance.

The first step for homeowners, renters and business owners to obtain federal disaster assistance is to register with FEMA. One easy way to apply is to call the toll-free telephone registration number, (800) 621-FEMA (3362). This number is also a help line individuals may call to ask questions and verify their registration. For speech-or hearing-impaired applicants, the TTY number is (800) 462-7585 and Video Relay Service may be accessed at (800) 621-3362. These lines will be open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week through Tuesday.

Registration is also possible in the following ways:

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:56
State/Tribal Government or Region: